Lawyers and Settlements
Home Page >> Potential Lawsuit >> FDA Receives Hundreds of Complaints About Essure Contraceptive Coils

FDA Receives Hundreds of Complaints About Essure Contraceptive Coils

Were you looking for Essure Side Effects or Mirena IUD or NuvaRing lawsuits?


New York, NY: The U.S. Food and Drug Administration has received nearly 1,000 "adverse event" reports related to the contraceptive device Essure. According to news reports, 500 of those reports were made in 2013.

En Español [ANTICONCEPTIVO ESSURE]

FREE CASE EVALUATION

Send your Essure claim to a lawyer who will review your claim at NO COST or obligation.Get Legal Help Now

Essure Coils

Hailed as the next generation of contraception, Essure consists of implantable coils that are permanently inserted via a catheter into a woman' fallopian tubes, to prevent pregnancy. It has been on the market since 2002.

Thousands of women across the US have had the coils implanted, and subsequently joined support groups on social media to discuss the side effects and medical problems they believe are caused by the device. The most common side effects include pain, hemorrhaging, headaches, menstrual irregularities, weight fluctuation, device migration and suspected nickel allergy. Some women have reportedly had a hysterectomy or other procedures to remove coils.

Essure was purchased by Bayer Healthcare from the manufacturer Conceptus. Last June, Bayer issued a statement which noted that Essure has a "well-documented benefit-risk profile" and has been placed in 750,000 women worldwide. Bayer also stated they are working with the FDA to make new information available to women as it becomes available.

Essure Legal Help

If you or a loved one has suffered similar damages or injuries, please click the link below and your complaint will be sent to a lawyer who may evaluate your claim at no cost or obligation.
Last updated on

ESSURE LEGAL ARTICLES AND INTERVIEWS

Essure Sales Decline as Complaints Increase and ObGyn Tips for Removal
Essure Sales Decline as Complaints Increase and ObGyn Tips for Removal
July 13, 2017
Paris, FR: While Essure lawsuits are being filed in France, Canada and the US on behalf of women who have suffered complications from the permanent birth control device (and at least one death in France), gynecologists say a “small minority of women” are requesting removal. But what constitutes a small minority [READ MORE]

Essure Banned in Another Country, Essure Victim in US wants it Banned Worldwide
Essure Banned in Another Country, Essure Victim in US wants it Banned Worldwide
June 15, 2017
Cleveland, OH: Brazil found Essure such a risk that it’s national health agency banned the permanent sterilization device this past February. Finland is the second country to follow suit. Given the fact that thousands of women have been seriously injured by Essure, isn’t it time the U.S. followed these two forward-thinking countries [READ MORE]

Attorney Max Kennerly Takes Sides against Essure
Attorney Max Kennerly Takes Sides against Essure
May 18, 2017
Philadelphia, PA More and more women are coming forward with complaints and complications related to the use of Bayer’s Essure contraceptive device [READ MORE]



READER COMMENTS

Posted by
Shari Snider
on
My name is Shari and I've had the essure for almost 3 years, since I've had the ensure I have had severe pain that travels up into my side when I ovulate. Is that even good enough for a case. Have not been told that anything has broken loose yet. But I feel awful most of the time, fatigue plagues me 95% of the time. What is going on?

Posted by
Takesha Dublin
on
I had Essure done July 2010, 2 months after giving birth to my 4th child. About a year later, I started having abdominal pain, unpredictable menstrual cycles, heavy bleeding, severe cramping and migraines. I found out today that I am 6 weeks pregnant.

Posted by
Betty
on
I have the Easter puttin me back in 2010 and I've been having complications that Reese I've been having bad pain in my stomach pain when I'm having intercourse I've been experiencing headaches also I've been experiencing bloating I even had to go to the hospital to see if the Essure was still put in place because I was in so much pain I even just went today and two weeks ago to the hospital for having symptoms as in kicks in my stomach bloating and pain in my lower back and abdomen I'm currently waiting to see my doctor to see what is going on and I have this put in 6 years ago and I'm still having complications

Posted by
chelsea kreutzer
on
I have essure done 12-22-2008 I have lots of problems like bad headaches alot of pressure in my head sounds like a helicopter and I even black out ,then I have abdominal pain ,light bleeding, period lasting 3 days hips hurting my teeth have went bad I have really bad depression been on 7 or 8 different meds for that when I got it done on my right side it wouldnt go in right so he had to do it twice also I gave a hard time remembering stuff

Posted by
JENNIFER SHURKO
on
Hello - I had Essure put in me in 2007. I have to have a hysterectomy on February 5th. One of the coils has migrated. I've had issues with my teeth and an allergy to the metal that is made up of the components. My skin basically from head to toe is full of scarrs. I need advice as to keeping coils after my surgery etc.

Posted by
Aimee
on
I had Essure in 2009 after my 4th baby. I opted for this because it was supposed to be non surgical. Wow not only did i almost die on the table, the left side didn't take. The Dr told me she had to do it twice on that side. Since then, every month I have unimaginable pelvic pain on the left side. On top of that pain I get migraines for days at a time, gained about 30 lbs and also look alot older when before EVERYONE told me I look way younger than I am! The Dr kept telling me that I must have a cyst causing me this pain. Really for 6 years? This year saw her again only for her to admit my pain must be coming from the Esssure and she wanted to remove my tube! Its so hurtful that this company and the Dr's are almost set out to hurt and damage women telling us lies all along!

Posted by
Amy R
on
I had Essure placed in 2013 and had nothing but problems when they were placed. I had sever pain in my lower abdomen and back, migraine that won't go away, menstrual irregularities, weight fluctuation, a suspected nickel allergy, painful intercourse and extreme fatigue. A few months later, after keeping on my doctor I went through a nickel allergy test because everyone at the doctor said my symptoms were not coming from the Essure. I had then had surgery to remove the coils within one year of getting Essure. Going into surgery the doctor said you will either come out with a tubal ligation or a hysterectomy. I woke up to then find out that I had a tubal ligation. I had went through a lot but woke up from surgery and the next day was sore from surgery but felt great with no back pain, migraine, fatigue....

Posted by
Erica
on
hi my name is Erica Lynn Voegtlin I'm twenty seven two kids i had essure placed in August 2013 by Dr.Eric Colton under General anesthesia. six months after having essure it's when i started changing extreme fatigue, hair loss, migraines, cavities with word taste in mouth about eight months after essure placement i started having alot of pain when urinating with all the other symptoms i was having before that i just thought from having kids n getting older my back n neck by this time started to feel inn it's sixties I went to the doctor about six months ago n they did a vaginal exam found nothing but another bacterial infection! those are just lovely to since essure had them quite often. they next day after getting a vaginal exam i woke up in the morning for work n couldnt stand up straight so i went to st anrhony er they then found a ruptered cyst in my right ovary and a deep thrombosis blood clot in the vein that goes to our heart n lungs so i was then admitted to the hospital for four days while in the hospital i was on blood thinner shots to my belly coumadin percocet 10 then sent home on everything but the shots to the belly. during this year i have ALSO had shingles eight different times! shingles at 27 hmmmm.. not to mention iin the last six months i have lost about twenty lbs weighing 101 last time at dr two weeks ago. made me wanna puke! lets not forget about the constant hip to hip pelvic pain that was unexplainable to every dr i seen for the past yr. Just last tuesday had to have my tubes and coils removed in tons of pain that started with a non surgical procedure! Does any of this sound correct to you?? There are way more things that have went on those are all the main events.

Posted by
Gabriela
on
I had essure done 6/2011 a month after giving birth. This year I got pregnant and gave birth two weeks ago (10/11/2015). Thank God my baby was born healthy. However, right after having essure done, I had severe abdominal cramps, heavy bleeding, headaches. The big plus, I got pregnant. After giving birth to this baby, next day I under went surgery for tubal ligation. The surgeons would also attempt to remove the essure coils. It turned out to be a failure. They removed my fallopian tubes but the implants were not there. Next day, I had an xray done. They say the implants are lost somewhere in my abdominal cavity and one can not be seen. Therefore, I after my postpartum recovery, they will do a CT scan to relocate them and under go surgery to remove them. -_____- the problem is, I am an interesting case since the hospital has never done such surgery. I feel angry and upset. I have children that depend on me and my health is priceless.

Posted by
Kristal stamper
on
I had just recently had the essure and I am very concerned about this now I am having many issues and would like to talk to someone about this

Posted by
Noemi
on
I'M SO GLAD I DECIDED TO RESEARCH ! my doctor kept pushing this on me when i insisted to go the old route the surgery she went on to tell me that the surgery is way more dangerous that this birth control would be better less invasive....im not doing it !!

Posted by
Amanda thomas
on
I have several side effects

Posted by
Lori Stiles
on
I had the Essure placed in March of 2013. For the two years I had it in my body I had severe bleeding,painful intercourse.I couldn't take care of my kids properly because of the pain. I had three miscarriages because of this horrible thing they "say is ok. You will not get pregnant." The last miscarriage I lost the baby in the toilet of my home. I set up an appointment before the new warnings came out to be checked. And to have the Essure removed. It turns out at the age of 23 I had to have a Hysterectomy because it perforated my Uterus. I hope and pray to God. That this thing will be taken off the shelf and never sold again. For I would not wish this on my worst enemy.

ADD YOUR COMMENT ON THIS ISSUE

Fields marked * are mandatory. Please read our comment guidelines before posting.

*Name:

Note: Your name will be published with your comment.

*Email Address:

Your email will only be used if a response is needed.
*Your Comment:

Are you the defendant or a subject matter expert on this topic with an opposing viewpoint? We'd love to hear your comments here as well, or if you'd like to contact us for an interview please submit your details here.