Request Legal Help Now - Free

Home Page >> Videos >> New California overtime laws in effect u..

New California overtime laws in effect until 2017


Send your California Overtime claim to a Lawyer who will review your claim at NO COST or obligation. Get Legal Help Now or call 1-888-286-9881

As of January 1, 2014, domestic workers in California are now covered by overtime pay laws. The law was approved by Governor Jerry Brown in late 2013 and makes domestic workers eligible to receive one-and-one-half their regular pay rate during overtime for the next four years.

There is a difference, however, in their overtime pay rate, as it only kicks in after a worker has put in nine hours in a workday or 45 hours in a workweek, whereas regular overtime pay applies after only eight hours and 40 hours, respectively.

The law defines domestic workers as those who perform domestic work ranging from live-in workers and child-care providers to housekeepers and maids. People under the age of 18 who work as babysitters or those who work infrequently as babysitters are not included.

The law will be in effect until January 1, 2017, after which it could be extended.

There have been various overtime lawsuits in the state this year, including lawsuits against Best Buy, Apple and other organizations, with claimants alleging that employers failed to pay overtime.

If you or a loved one has not been paid for time worked, we recommend seeking the help of a lawyer. You can simply click the button at the bottom of the page and your complaint will be sent to an employment law lawyer who may evaluate your claim at no cost or obligation.

Request Legal Help Now! - Free